NHSA Recognizes Congressional Leaders with 2020 Awards

WASHINGTON, D.C. – NHSA recognized more than two dozen congressional champions for their leadership in supporting Head Start, the comprehensive early childhood development program for at-risk infants, young children, and their families. The awards were presented to members of Congress during NHSA’s 2020 Winter Leadership Institute.

“Congressional support for Head Start is stronger than ever, as we can see by the diverse and enthusiastic presence of so many members of Congress here today to meet with the Head Start community,” NHSA Executive Director Yasmina Vinci said. “At a time when so many things are political, it is heartening to see congressional allies from all over the political spectrum take the time to hear from this gathering of hundreds of Head Start parents, staff, and advocates. As one member said, Head Start must not let our voice fade. We must remain strong and united in our fight for America’s most vulnerable children and families.”

Senator Lamar Alexander (R-TN), Sen. Michael Enzi (R-WY), Rep. Nita Lowey (D-NY), and Rep. Elijah Cummings (D-MD) (posthumously) were honored with NHSA’s highest award, the Robert E. Cooke Award, for their career-long dedication to supporting America’s most vulnerable children and families. Dr. Cooke was a visionary pediatrician who helped create Head Start and dedicated his career to addressing the health and wellness needs of America’s most disadvantaged children. The Award honors members of the Congress who have, throughout their careers, demonstrated a steadfast commitment to Head Start and to serving our nation’s most vulnerable children and their families, not only in their districts, but across the country.

Senator Roy Blunt (R-MS) and Representatives Joaquin Castro (D-TX), Katherine Clark (D-MA), Tom Cole (R-OK), Rodney Davis (R-IL), Rosa DeLauro (D-CT), Chuck Fleischmann (R-TN), Jahana Hayes (D-CT), Martha Roby (R-AL), Donna Shalala (D-FL), Abigail Spanberger D-VA), Steve Stivers (R-OH), and Susan Wild (D-PA) received the Head Start Pledge Award for demonstrating a steadfast commitment to fulfilling the Head Start pledge to serve America’s most vulnerable children and families.

Senators Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Dick Durbin (D-IL), and Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) and Representatives Danny Davis (D-IL), Mike Gallagher (R-WI), Denver Riggleman (R-VA), and David Trone (D-MD) received NHSA’s PROMISE (Protecting Our Most Important Students Early) Award. The PROMISE Award honors members of the Congress who have demonstrated a steadfast commitment to Head Start and to serving our nation’s most vulnerable children and their families, not only in their districts/states, but across the nation. This year’s PROMISE Awards have been presented to members of Congress who have led the charge in supporting Head Start’s work to address childhood trauma.

In December, Congress passed a historic investment in Head Start in its fiscal year 2020 spending bill, increasing funding for the nationwide, locally-run program by nearly $550 million. The bill, which was the result of negotiations between both the House of Representatives and the Senate, included a record-setting $10.6 billion annual investment for Head Start.

The bipartisan agreement also dedicates $250 million in new resources to expand Head Start’s ability to provide trauma-informed care to the increasing number of children experiencing adverse childhood experiences (ACEs), responding to recommendations NHSA’s Opioid Working Group first laid out in “A Head Start on Treating Our Nation’s Opioid Epidemic.”

About NHSA

The National Head Start Association is committed to the belief that every child, regardless of circumstances at birth, has the ability to succeed in school and in life. The opportunities offered by Head Start lead to healthier, empowered children and families, and stronger, more vibrant communities. NHSA is the voice for more than 1 million children, 270,000 staff and 1,600 Head Start grant recipients in the United States. ••• Media Contact: Emily Wagner, Director of Communications, media@nhsa.org

In Recent News

NHSA Response to FY22 Continuing Resolution

NHSA urges Congress to pass of a new bill for FY23 and not let the continuing resolution stretch past December for a second year in a row.

Read More

Response to the Office of the Inspector General’s Report

NHSA released the following statement in response to the report released by the Health and Human Services Office of the Inspector General.

Read More

Zigler Documentary Premieres at Fall Leadership Insitute

The tribute brings to life Dr. Zigler's legacy through video and audio clips by family, former students, colleagues, and luminaries.

Read More