Sargent Shriver Excellence in Community Service Award

The Sargent Shriver Excellence in Community Service Award celebrates a significant organizational achievement in poverty alleviation, early education, or community health.

The nominee must:

  • Be a Head Start or Early Head Start grant recipient who has made an innovative contribution of time and effort that has had a positive impact on children, families, and their communities. The recipient may or may not have a community partner.
  • Provide two letters of reference from two organizational leaders who know the impact of the partnership first hand (Note: These two letters must come from leaders outside both the program and the community partner.)
  • Submit a statement describing the following:
    • key demographic information and history of the local community
    • specific contribution(s), the approach, and the name(s) of key leaders of the effort
    • outcomes or impact of the effort that are unique and/or go beyond Head Start's performance standards.
  • Comply with all NHSA general rules and regulations as listed on the Scholarships & Awards homepage.

Past Sargent Shriver Excellence in Community Service Award Recipients

2023-24: Alliance for Community Empowerment, Inc. and National Center for Housing and Child Welfare, Bridgeport, CT

2022-23: Children First, Inc.

2021-22: Renee Sexton, Christian Appalachian Project and the LKLP Head Start Program

2020-21: Heart of Florida Health Center and Episcopal Children's Services

2019-20: Daria Nicole Stone, Leslie, Knott, Letcher, & Perry Head Start Program

2018-19: Ruth Rucker, Edward C. Mazique Parent Child Center

2017-18: Tallahatchie River Foundation

2016-17: Ken Cloke and Joan Goldsmith, North Idaho College Head Start